Thai Chicken Lettuce Wraps

My husband and I CRAVE Asian food. When we get a chance to go to the cities we usually end up at Big Bowl or another Thai/sushi restaurant. I enjoy being in the kitchen. I grew up learning beside my mother and grandmother, who taught me well. I cooked for a summer camp in GA and I was the food service director for a small Bible college nearby. Don’t get me wrong, there are days that I dread making dinner. They usually happen when I’m ill prepared and haven’t planned out our meal. Last night, I was on top of it and made a favorite of ours! Thai Chicken Lettuce Wraps. YUM!

Image

Thai Chicken Lettuce Wraps

1lb Boneless Skinless Chicken Thighs (sliced or cubed)
1 Shallot, minced
2 Cloves Garlic, minced
2 Tbsp EVOO
2 Tbsp Soy Sauce or Tamari for GF
1 Tbsp Fish Sauce
2 tsp fresh grated ginger
1/2c. chopped peanuts or cashews
1/2 lime, juiced
Fresh Thai Basil and Cilantro to taste
Boston Bib Lettuce

Heat your oil in a large skillet. Add the minced shallot and garlic to the pan and cook until tender. Once your onion and garlic are tender add in your chicken and cook at med-low heat.Image

Add in your soy sauce and fish sauce and let the chicken simmer until cooked through. Add in your chopped cashews, cilantro and Thai basil. Keep on low heat until ready to serve!

I served these up with thinly sliced carrots and cucumbers with a peanut sauce on top! We also enjoyed a pan of stir fry veggies!

Thai Peanut Sauce
1/4 Cup Peanut Butter
1/2 Almond Milk
2 Tbsp Soy Sauce
1 Clove garlic, minced
1/2 Lime – juiced
2 tsp. honey

Image

Leave a comment